ppti.info Fiction Tennis Rules Pdf


Friday, August 2, 2019

Rules of Tennis. Click the PDF links below to view the ITF Rules of Tennis, published in English, French and Spanish. Related Links. Related PDFs. Rules. Arizona Intramurals * Student Recreation Center, Room * Tennis Rules - Page 1 of 10, Updated: 9/29/ PM * [email protected] * () . Tennis Rules Simplified. The rules of tennis are quite simple. The game itself is complex. Rule 1. Opponents stand on opposite sides of the court. The player who .

Tennis Rules Pdf

Language:English, Spanish, French
Published (Last):19.04.2015
ePub File Size:18.77 MB
PDF File Size:17.60 MB
Distribution:Free* [*Regsitration Required]
Uploaded by: LYNNA

Learn about TENNIS RULES & regulations. Find all the rules: the height of the net, serving rules, scoring rules and much more. Also check out our beginners. II. TENNIS RULES: A. Single's Game: (Two people total). 1. The player winning the coin toss or spin of the racket may choose to: a. To be server or receiver b. PDF generated using the open source mwlib toolkit. The rules of tennis have not changed much since the s. Two exceptions are that.

After the set has ended, the receiver will become the server and serve the ball until the next set has ended. This process is repeated throughout the match. Do note that the server is given two opportunities to serve the ball within the service court as marked in the diagram below. When the server fails to get his first serve into the diagonally opposite service court, it is called a fault serve.

A double fault is committed if the server fails to get his second serve into the diagonally opposite service court and the receiver will then earn a point. Counting score in tennis match is some tricky business. The point system of a tennis match is as follows:.

A set is won when a player has won a minimum of six games with a two game advantage over his opponent, for example, the potential score for a six game set maybe 6 — 0 or 6 — 4 but not 6 - 5. Decision : The point stands as played and the next service should be from the correct station according to the score. The point score being 15 all, Server, by mistake, serves from the left-hand Court. He wins the point. He then serves again from the right-hand Court, delivering a fault.

This mistake in station is then discovered. Is he entitled to the previous point? From which Court should he next serve?

Decision : The previous point stands. If the latter attempts to return the service, he shall be deemed ready. If, however, the Receiver signifies that he is not ready, he may not claim a fault because the ball does not hit the ground within the limits fixed for the service.

THE LET : In all cases where a let has to be called under the rules, or to provide for an interruption to play, it shall have the following interpretations: - a. When called solely in respective of a service that one service only shall be replayed.

When called under any other circumstance, the point shall be replayed. A service is interrupted by some cause outside those defined in Rule Should the service only be replayed? The whole point must be replayed. If a ball in play becomes broken, should a let be called? If the ball served touches the net, strap or band, and is otherwise good, or, after touching the net, strap or band, touches the Receivers or anything which he wears or carries before hitting the ground.


If a service or a fault is delivered when the Receiver is not ready see Rule In case of a let, that particular service not count, and the Server shall serve again, but a service let does not annul a previous fault. If a player serves out of turn, the player who ought to have served shall serve as soon as the mistake is discovered, but all points scored before such discovery shall stand.

A fault served before such discovery shall not stand. If a game shall have been completed before such discovery, the order of service shall remain as altered.

However there will be no rest allowed after the first game of the set but there will be a change of sides. At the end of each set the players are entitled to a two-minute break. If a mistake is made and the correct sequence is not followed the players must take up their correct station as soon as the discovery is made and follow their original sequence. Unless a fault or a let is called it remains in play until the point is decided.

A player fails to make a good return. No call is made and the ball remains in play. May his opponent later claim the point after the rally has ended? The point may not be claimed if the players continue to play after the error has been made, provided the opponent was not hindered.

If the ball served, not being a let under Rule 14, touches the Receivers or anything which he wears or carries, before it hits the ground; b. If the Receiver otherwise loses the point as provided by Rule If the Server serves two consecutive faults; b.


If the Server otherwise loses the points as provided by Rule He fails before the ball in play has hit the ground twice consecutively, to return it directly over the net except as provided in Rule 24 a or c ; or b. He returns the ball in play so that it hits the ground, a permanent fixtures, or other object, outside any of the lines which bound his opponent's Court; or c.

He volleys the ball and fails to make a good return even when standing outside the Court; or d. In playing the ball he deliberately carries or catches it on his racket or deliberately touches it with his racket more than once; or e.

He or his racket in his hand or otherwise or anything which he wears or carries touches the net, posts, singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, or the ground within his opponent's Court at any time while the ball is play; or f. He volleys the ball before it has passed the net; or g.

The ball in play touches him or anything that he wears or carries, except his racket in his hand or hands; or h. He throws his racket at and hits the ball; or i.

He deliberately and materially changes the shape of his racket during the playing of the point. In serving, the racket flies from the Server's hand and Touches the net before the ball has touched the ground. Is this a fault, or does the player lose the point? Decision : The Server loses the point because his racket touches the net whilst the ball is in play Rule 20 e. In serving, the racket flies from the Server's hand and touches the net after the ball has touches the ground outside the proper court.

Decision : This is a fault because the ball was out of play when the racket touched the net.

Policy & Rules

A fault is then called because the service falls outside the Service Court. Do C and D lose the point? Decision : The call "fault" is an erroneous one. C and D had already lost the point before "fault" could be called, because C touched the net whilst the ball was in play Rule 20 e.

May a player jump over the net into his opponent's Court while the ball is in play and not suffer penalty? He loses the Point Rule 20 e. Case 5. A cuts the ball just over the net, and it returns to A's side.

B, unable to reach the ball, throws his racket and hits the ball. Both racket and ball fall over the net on A's court. A returns the ball outside of B's court. Does B win or lose the point? Decision : B loses the point Rule 20 e and h. Case 6. A player standing outside the service Court is struck by a service ball before it has touched the ground.

Does he win or lose the point? Decision : The player struck loses the point Rule 20 g , except as provided under 14 a. Case 7. A player standing outside the Court volleys the ball or catches it in his hand and claims the point because the ball was certainly going out of court. Decision : In no circumstances can he claim the point:- I.

If he catches the ball he loses the point under Rule 20 g. If he volleys it and makes a bad return he loss the point under Rule 20 c. If he volleys it and makes a good return, the rally continues. Is a player liable to a penalty if in making a stroke he touches his opponent. Unless the Umpire deems it necessary to take action under Rule When a ball bounds back over the net, the player concerned may reach over the net in order to play the ball.

What is the ruling if the player is hindered from doing this by his opponent?

Rules of Tennis

Decision : In accordance with Rule 21, the Umpire may either award the point to the player hindered, or order the point to be replayed see also Rule Does an involuntary double hit constitute an act which hinders an opponent within Rule 21? A return hits the Umpire or his chair or stand. The player claims that the ball was going into Court.

Decision : He loses the point. If the ball touches the net, posts, singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, provided that it passes over any of them and hits the ground within the Court; or b. If the ball, served or returned, hits the ground within the proper Court and rebounds or is blown back over the net, and the player whose turn it is to strike reaches over the net and plays the ball, provided that he does not contravene Rule 20 e ; or c.

If the ball is returned outside the posts, or singles sticks, either above or below the level of the top to the net, even though it touches the posts or singles sticks, provided that it hits the ground within the proper Court; or d. If a player's racket passes over the net after he has returned the ball, provided the ball passes the net before being played and is properly returned; or e.

If a player succeeds in returning the ball, served or in play, which strikes a ball lying in the Court. Note : In a singles match, if, for the sake of convenience, a Doubles Court is equipped with singles sticks for the purpose of a singles game, then the doubles posts and those portions of the net, cord or metal cable and the band outside such singles sticks shall at all times be permanent fixtures, and are not regarded as posts or parts of the net of singles game.

A return that passes under the net cord between the singles stick and adjacent doubles post without touching either net cord, net or doubles post and falls within the court, is a good return. A ball going out of Court hits a net post or singles stick and falls within the lines of the opponent's Court.

Is the stroke good? Decision : If a service; no, under Rule 10 c. If other than a service; yes, under Rule 24 a. Is it a good return if a player returns the ball holding his racket in both hands? The service, or ball in play, strikes a ball lying in the Court.

You are here

Is the point won or lost thereby? If it is not clear to the Umpire that the right ball is returned a let should be called. May a player use more than one racket at any time during play? The whole implication of the Rules is singular. May a player request that a ball or balls lying in his opponent's Court be removed? Decision : Yes, but not while a ball is in play.

A spectator gets into the way of a player, who fails to return the ball. May the player then claim a let? If in the Umpire's opinion he was obstructed by circumstances beyond his control, but not if due to permanent fixtures of the Court or the arrangements of the ground. A player is interfered with as in Case No. The Server had previously served a fault. This generally happens if they miss the ball, hit it into the net, or over the end of the table.

Can you volley in table tennis? No, you cannot volley the ball in table tennis and win the point. Where to serve in table tennis? How to serve in table tennis?

2018 Rules of Tennis

To serve legally you must throw the ball up vertically from the palm of the hand at least 16cm without imparting spin.Yes, the server will lose the point if they fail to put the ball into play. Cookies may also allow the Site to present to you advertising which may be of interest to you.

Need facilities? Is a stroke good when a ball in play hits another ball in the air? They have no adjudicative role.

A service is interrupted by some cause outside those defined in Rule

DANN from New Hampshire
Browse my other articles. One of my hobbies is arimaa. I do enjoy studying docunments naturally .